Embracing The Flow

“Water flows because it’s willing.” 

– Marty Rubin

We’ve all heard the phrase, “Just go with the flow.”

But what does it really mean?

I’ve heard some people say that it’s a passive or lazy way to live our lives. Others have mentioned that without doing so, they’d go absolutely crazy.

In my own experience, it took me some time to really hone in on what the flow is and why we should learn to “go with it.” I have always had trouble letting go. I don’t know if it’s my personality or because of what I’ve been through in my life, but it’s something I’ve truly had to work through – and honestly, I still am to some degree. When I have a goal, I want to not only control the process but also the outcome as well. This is something a lot of us do. When our entire heart and soul is put into something, we want it to be perfect. The silly thing about this tendency is that in trying to control each and every aspect, we block off a lot of room for what we want to happen, to actually happen. Most of the time, it happens in a way and at a time that is far off from want we originally pictured or expected.

This is what I’ve learned:

Going with the flow isn’t about wandering aimlessly through our lives. It’s not about giving up all control and letting things just happen to us. It’s about being connected and present within the everlasting flow that is Universal energy. It’s a co-creative collaboration with all that Is. A matter of taking care of what we can, letting go of what is uncontrollable, and trusting that life will take us to where we need to be – in the right time and in the right way.

I invite you to think of a river for a moment. Imagine that the current is steady and constant, going in one direction. Picture yourself swimming against this current. How exhausted do you feel? How much extra effort does it take to do this? Quite a bit, right? Now, picture allowing yourself to turn around and swim with the current. There still might be a bit of effort as you are still swimming, but how much support are you now given to get to your desired destination? How much faster and easier does it feel to swim with the current rather than against it? You’re covering more ground, without exhausting yourself. You’re able to relax, enjoy the scenery, and allow the current to guide you to where you want to be.

This is super similar to how life works. We have a moment-by-moment choice to either go with this Universal flow or resist it – to push back and struggle, or move with and relax into it.

Either way, the flow is happening.

As we learn to embrace the flow within our own lives, we begin to feel a sense of support like no other. We start welcoming the unknown because we know that we are constantly being guided to what serves us and lovingly held by the Universe itself. We’re able to more fully enjoy the process of growth and change, totally present in the here and now, strengthening our ability to discern and embrace the opportunities that will lead us to our goals. We no longer have to exert so much effort and use so much of our precious time to control what, how, when, and where they show up because we know that they will come in the perfect way they need to.

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: The Universe does not work against us, it works for us, through us, and with us. I believe that each and every person, experience, and opportunity that is brought into our lives has an important purpose – to shift us in the direction that we wish to go. This is why it’s so important for us to begin moving with the flow of our lives. We aren’t aware of the Divine gifts and opportunities that push us towards what we want if we’re so focused on it being exactly the way we think it’s supposed to be.  In letting go, we open space for more awareness of the way it IS happening and the chance to say YES to a more aligned path of success, happiness, and abundance.

When it comes to embracing the flow, it boils down to a few principles:

  • Openness: Being open and receptive to what comes.
  • Non-attachment: Not attaching ourselves to a specific outcome.
  • Curiosity: Staying in a state of curiosity and excitement about what will happen.
  • Patience: Being patient as it all unfolds perfectly in the way it is Divinely meant to.
  • Trust: Trusting that the Universe has our back and is supporting us fully – because it is!

As I’ve grown in my spirituality and in my own self-awareness, I’ve realized how much of a disservice I do to myself when I try to control everything. In all honesty, it was (and is still) a bit difficult to let go and trust that all happens in it’s own Divine timing – but, once I realized the truth of what I was blocking myself off from, I made the choice to shift into a more open, receptive state when I notice myself falling back into a space of control. As long as I keep my eyes (and heart!) on the prize and do the things I can to move myself in the direction I wish to be, giving the rest up to the Universe, I find myself receiving whatever it is with a lot less effort and, sometimes, a whole lot quicker. I find myself welcoming the unknown with open arms because I realize the myriad of opportunities that it holds – opportunities that my laser focused mind can’t perceive. It allows me to fully engage in each moment, open to what comes. Even challenges seem less scary and more exciting because I know that the flow is always moving, always changing, and always supporting me. It’s up to me to choose to struggle or choose to relax.

Embracing the flow doesn’t mean we give up all hopes and dreams. It doesn’t mean we’re passive or lazy. It doesn’t mean we throw out our vision. What it does mean is that in holding our vision and trusting that the Universe will support us, we move through life with ease and enjoyment on the way to realizing our vision, rather than struggling and closing ourselves off from how it’s meant to manifest.

When we trust the process, when we embrace the flow – we grow and we glow.

xo

17 thoughts on “Embracing The Flow

  1. How true! Going with the flow takes much less energy than going against. I’m reminded of my wedding preparation couple of years ago, when I was generally easygoing about the planning without going too much into details, and I was pretty zen on the day itself because I decided the job of the bride was to smile and look pretty! Everything went really well in the end. 😄

    Also, this article about flow reminded me very much about this article (http://personalityspirituality.net/articles/the-michael-teachings/goal/relaxation/); the gist of it is that our soul plans our life including a life goal (one of it is relaxation / flow). It’s something I was recently interested in and just wanted to share, so it’s fine if it’s not your cup of tea. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “A matter of taking care of what we can, letting go of what is uncontrollable, and trusting that life will take us to where we need to be – in the right time and in the right way.”- this is a perfect description Kayla! I agree 100%. I also like your analogy with the river. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Kayla, the post is good. But I always had a doubt, like I know there are lot of things that can get wrong in life,but the thing is that I don’t like the fact that I’m not in control of life. So yeah it’s easy to go with the flow, but can’t we have our own direction why is that being capable enough we still lose because of things which are not in our control. I really feel disheartened that even I do everything well things fall apart because they are not in my control. Hope you would shed some light on it. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Siddharth, I totally understand what you’re expressing here! I’ve been there. What I learned in my own experience, especially after some time and looking back, I understood why those things had to fall apart – to make room for something better, something that serves us even more than those things would have. It’s about trusting that all will work out in the way they are supposed to, not how we expect them to, and knowing that we will be abundant in the end, however that shows up! I hope this helps shed some light for you. Blessings 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. How beautifully worded. Very thought provoking and I loved the river analogy. I agree totally. It’s about living in the moment and letting things fall into place with the trust that everything happens for a reason. Thank you for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

