Wisdom Wednesday

Can you believe it’s already the last Wednesday of July?

I have to say, 2017 has been full of growth and expansion in my personal and creative life. It’s just hitting me that we’re only halfway through it! I’ve started a blog (and connected with all of you beautiful people!), graduated college, reconnected with my art, and opened an Etsy shop. It seems as though self-expression is a big theme for me this year, and this space here has really served me greatly in connecting to my voice.

EssenCentral has awarded me the opportunity to do exactly what EssenCentral is all about – getting back to our center, to our essence, to all those things that make up who we are. It’s been a journey that has been, at times, painful and confusing. Today, I am here to thank all of you for your incredible support and encouragement. Words fail to express the gratitude I feel when I receive comments expressing that these posts come at just the right time or that the words here made someone feel a little more supported.

It’s been an incredibly humbling experience because I write what I feel called to write and this calling comes from something much bigger than you and I. My purpose is to serve that which inspires love, connection, meaning, and fulfillment. This space has been a vehicle for that service to be expressed and it wouldn’t have had it not been for each and every one of you.

Have you guessed what this week’s pull might be about yet? 🙂

Today, we’re looking at a two card pull. The first card is The Desert Prince from the WotHR deck, and the second, as the support card, is Healer from the Archetype Card deck by Caroline Myss.

This pull is talking about the importance of courage, trust despite difficulties, and using that pain as a catalyst to growth and healing through service.

DSC_0069

 

DSC_0071

The Desert Prince

Meaning: Survival

The Desert Prince is received as a gift. The plant life that exists in the desert environment is well defended, tough, and succulent even though it gets little or no water. In spite of external conditions, extraordinary life can form and thrive. He is here as a reminder to be tough, have courage, and dare to dream no matter what the circumstances. It may seem to be a hard time, but not only will we will survive – we will thrive. Dry spells are true tests of faith and courage. Be patient, expect water – your dreams – to come, and miracles will manifest.

Questions to ask: What area of my life resembles that of a desert right now? Can I be tough in the face of adversity? Am I willing to trust that rain will come?

 

DSC_0081

Healer

Light attributes: Passion to serve others by repairing the body, mind, and spirit. Ability to help transform pain into healing.

Shadow Attributes: Taking advantage of those who need help. Failing to care for oneself.

Questions to ask: Beyond my professional life, how can I serve others in a way that is healing? What do I have to give to the world? How am I taking care of myself?

5 thoughts on “Wisdom Wednesday

  1. It’s been a pleasure to read your posts, Kayla! I’m glad 2017 has been a good year for you personally and creatively, and I’m happy for you. ❤️

    I think the card combination this week is interesting (I seem to say the same for every card combination 😆). The desert prince reminds me of the Prince of Persia movie, courageous and strong in a harsh world that is a desert. Yet it has a supporting card that is a healer, which in my view is also a supporting role; usually in a fantasy world, the warrior plows on ahead while the healer supports with healing magic from behind. ✨

    Which makes me feel like this week’s card combination is similar; plow on courageously like the desert prince / warrior, yet remembering to care for self and others like a healer. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

