Dreams 101: Dream Incubation

Welcome back to Dreams 101!

Last time, we talked about finding the message in our dreams through the use of intuition.

Today, we’re going to get into something that has the potential to totally transform your relationship to your dreams.

What is it?

Dream incubation!

So, we know now how to begin deciphering what we’re receiving but – what if you could consciously direct your dreams?

That’s exactly what dream incubation is. It’s the act of planting a seed within your subconscious mind right before you fall asleep in order to receive pertinent and specific guidance.

I’m sure you’ve heard the expression, “just sleep on it,” when facing difficult decisions. Dream incubation is really powerful when it comes to problems or issues that you’re not clear on. As we’ve learned our dreams are intimately connected to our intuition. Dream incubation, then, allows us to consciously and intentionally connect to our intuitive guidance to receive specific answers to specific questions rather than just receiving whatever we get on a typical night. Of course, we still have to move through the steps of interpreting what we get, but how much more motivated would you be to go through that process if the outcome is something you are presently stuck on?

Dream incubation can also be used to imagine future scenarios, clear creative blocks, or consider what it would be like to have that thing you want or your dream life. Referring back to a post I did this past spring, there is an energy transference happening in every moment – even while you sleep. Our thoughts are especially powerful energy, and consciously intending to experience your dream life in the most thorough detail whilst in your literal dreams can and will help pull that reality towards you. Doing this also allows you to clarify the who/what/where/when/why of your goals by giving you the opportunity to see how it feels or looks to you. You might find out something you thought you’d like doesn’t seem to fit in well, or maybe you would like more of this or that. What better way to do all of this than while you sleep?

Sounds fun, right?

It is! I’ve used this tool for a few years now and it never ceases to amaze me how perfect the guidance is. Often, I find myself overanalyzing things in my waking world that inevitably blocks me from actually coming to a clear conclusion or answer. Incubating my dreams allows me to receive what I need without the conscious mind arguing over the options or choices I’m confronted with. Dream incubation has also helped me manifest all kinds of opportunities that wouldn’t have come about because I wasn’t in a space of even considering them to be possible. But, by consciously intending to experience them and then “pre-experiencing” them in my dream state, got me excited and receptive, opening the space needed for those opportunities to come to me.

It’s pretty much magic.

The Process of Incubating Your Dreams

So, how on Earth does one begin dream incubation?

  1. Get clear.  What do you want to dream about? Is there an issue you’re facing or do you want to have some fun with it? If it’s an issue, clarify what about it you want to know. Phrase it as an affirmation. For example, if you’re having relationship trouble, “Tonight, I understand more deeply how to communicate with my partner.” If it’s for fun, ask yourself what do you want to experience and then phrase that as an affirmation. If it’s imagining a goal, “I have accomplished ____.”
  2. Sleep. Get comfortable, and as you drift off, repeat the affirmation you created. It doesn’t have to be incredibly focused, as you are about to sleep, but just repeat it to yourself with an open hand and allow yourself to fall asleep. Intention and belief is the key to successfully incubating dreams, so be sure that as you repeat your affirmation, you fully believe it’s truth.
  3. Interpret. When you wake up, record your details and then move through the steps of dream interpretation. It might seem totally random and not at all relevant to your affirmation at first, but as you begin interpreting it, you should find it becoming clearer and more true to your intention. You may find that if you’re having trouble receiving the message, going about your day as normal can help spark and connect the dots. It’s also important to note that sometimes you may receive the answer the next time you sleep rather than the first time, so it’s good to give it time to coalesce. Don’t give up! It will come.

I feel like I say this is every post, but really, practice makes perfect! Get clear, go to sleep, and interpret is the gist of dream incubation. It’s thought that we tend to dream about what we go to sleep thinking about, so this tool is all about using that to our advantage. The more you stick with it, the more second nature it becomes and thus the more pertinent and relevant your dreams become. And not only will it help you conquer obstacles, it will open completely new paths to take.

So, is this something you’d be interested in trying or have you tried it before? I’d love to know your thoughts! Let me know below.

Happy dreams!

xo

 

One thought on “Dreams 101: Dream Incubation

  1. This is interesting! I did try a few times to ask to dream about a solution to a problem, though the dreams that came after weren’t really illuminating, so I guess I need more practice. 😛

    At least I know there’s one thing I can do pretty well; if I wake up in the middle of an interesting dream, I can go back to sleep and continue that same dream. 😆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

